Equinox 3.0 V6 rattle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Masterkevj

Reaction score
Hello all, I've been searching forums since I purchased a 2010 Equinox LTZ with the 3.0 V6 a few weeks ago. It drives great and has okay power, not what I thought I would have with the horsepower rating it advertises, but it gets around.

I come come a long line of GM vehicles and have seen many of their best and a lot of their worst. 2 things I have an issue with:

1. I'm used to GM having pretty silky smooth V6 engines. Had a 99 Grand Am GT and barely felt the 3.4L and even smoother was the 3.8L in my 2005 Grand Prix GT. The V6 in the Equinox almost feels like a 4-cylinder. It has a slight vibration. No big deal, just unexpected.

2. This is my MAJOR issue. I have 94k miles and the engine has an ANNOYING rattle/ticking once it warms up. From my experience and knowledge of cars I would off the bat say timing chain. Well the repair shop tore down the engine (supposedly...they spent 4 days "tearing it down" and only a few hours putting it back together) and said the timing chain was fine. It sounds fine when it's cold, but after a nice drive it almost sounds like a diesel at idle. It's embarrassing pulling up in a drive thru or parking next to another car as that rattle bounces off everything making it sound even louder! Inside the truck you don't hear anything so imagine my surprise the first time I got out of the vehicle while it was running. I was like "is that my car making that noise???!!!"

I find tons of info on the 4 banger but very little on the V6. Does anyone have any info pertaining to the 3.0 V6, NOT the 4-cylinder. I have an extended warranty but the repair shop they use said no problem found of course...any info would be greatly appreciated. I did hear mention of the loud fuel pumps but that can't be it.

dietz4ibanez

Admin