Help!! timing chain issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

eden610

Reaction score
Newbie here, I just recently changed my timing chain. I bought a Cloyes kit with chain, guides and cam sprockets. The tensioner guide plastic was loose, not sure if it is the problem.
I installed sprockets with marks in right place, 10, 2 and 5 o,clock. keyway at 12 with engine being at an angle. rotated engine a couple of times to make sure all seemed clear. put back together fired it up and when engine first starts sound good, then after it warms up i start to hear a rattle noise and it is not a rhythmic. could it be the guide or one of the sprockets? Rpm's sound good engine idles good. did quick up road and plenty of power, no codes.

also, I didn't replace balance chain. it seems tight except below tensioner at the crankshaft, there is play when i push down on it at that spot.

Last edited:

Uluz2a6

Reaction score
Did the the old timing chain guides fail? I ask because parts of the old guides could have gotten lodged in the oil pump pressure release valve. The n when it sits for a time, all the oil bleeds out and until pressure returns, you have chatter.

eden610

Reaction score
thanks for the reply, but no the guides were fine. I did tear it down and started over. The upper guide was leaning on chain and had rub marks, Course that was not it. tensioner was reset and everything was reinstalled, engine seem to rotate fine. closed it up. crank engine. engine idled fine. run RPM's up to about 4000 seem ok. engine got warm sound came back. New actuators (cam sprockets), guides, chain.
Iam at a lost. maybe one of the new sprockets is bad, don't really know.

corvairbob

Reaction score