Oil Filter Shootout

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

1sLoY7

Reaction score
Looking at the "What kind of oil are you guys using?" thread and seeing the different filters you all use I subscribe to Petersons and Fourwheeler magazine and remembered an article I really liked. So I found the article and wanted to share it with you guy so that you can see what exactly is filtering your oil. I know seeing that article gave me peace of mind in my filter choice.

http://www.fourwheeler.com/techarticles/engine/129_1202_oil_filter_comparison_fodder/index.html

prheaume

Reaction score
that's a realy nice article! I will print it and bring it to my co workers, they will love it. thanks !

Colt Hero

Reaction score
I'm using the same oil filter brand I've been using for 10+ years with my other 2 cars (which use 10w/30 'dino' oil):

SuperTech Wal-Mart oil filters.

Now, I AM using a full-synthetic oil with my Equinox and changing it every 5000+ miles (filter and oil), but is the SuperTech filter too low-end for the Equinox? I'm thinking it really doesn't matter ... but maybe for THIS particular vehicle I should be using a higher quality oil filter??

prheaume

Reaction score
For the price difference I go with the OEM one. It cost me 5,60$ at the dealership when a Fram will cost more.

2010BlkGraniteNox

Reaction score
I'm using the same oil filter brand I've been using for 10+ years with my other 2 cars (which use 10w/30 'dino' oil):

Now, I AM using a full-synthetic oil with my Equinox and changing it every 5000+ miles (filter and oil), but is the SuperTech filter too low-end for the Equinox? I'm thinking it really doesn't matter ... but maybe for THIS particular vehicle I should be using a higher quality oil filter??

It depends honestly...