Front brake diagram

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

oldschool

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first post. I'm an aircraft mechanic, for 26 years. I've been working on cars for about 35 years, I do all my own maintenance. My wife has a '03 Buick Lesabre so I'm somewhat familiar with current GM vehicles.

Now my question, today I did the change over to snow tires on my sister-in-laws 2006 Equinox. She was telling me the Nox was making a funny sound, similar to when the wheel bearings failed (R/H side)last spring. After changing the tires I took it for a drive and it does sound like bearings. I know these GM vehicles go thru bearings on a regular basis but don't think it's the bearings.

When I had the front wheels off I noticed the inside edge of the rotors is rubbing on the bracket that the caliper bolts to. The caliper bolts to floating pins but this bracket is fixed, I don't know how this could happen. I'm thinking wrong rotors the last time they were changed or maybe there is a spacer missing that moves those brackets inboard slightly.

Anybody have a diagram of the front brakes on one of these vehicles. I think the brake setup is the same or very similar to my wifes car but really don't have the energy to pull her wheels to have a look. I'm currently getting radiation treatment for cancer so don't want to crawl under cars if I don't have to. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

dietz4ibanez

Admin
Reaction score
What kind of noise it is making. I have a 2006 Saturn Vue and I just replaced all 4 hubs because or a roaring sound that would make you think it was a bad tire belt. Once replaced the noise disappeared.

nestor06

Reaction score
It sounds like I have a similar problem

This was originally posted on GMForum.com