Newbie here need buying advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SSDude

Reaction score
Hi All ..

I'm a newbie to this forum . I'm planning to buy an AWD equinox either this month or december and wanted some advice from the experts here. If you were in the market looking for an equinox would you go for a 2010 , 2011 or go for a brand new 2012 model? Are there any significant differences between these 3 model years? I live in NJ hence the need for an AWD for the winters. I'm eyeing the 3.0L version [probably LT] but what has your experience been for those who test drove both? Any help/feedback will be really appreciated. Thanks y'all..

prheaume

Reaction score
If you go AWD, no question, go with the V6. And for the size of the vehicule, I'll go with a V6 whatever if it's FWD or AWD. But that's my opinion.

Go to the nearest dealer and check with the financial, maybe a brand new will not be a lot more expensive. I think GM offer 0% these days.

SSDude

Reaction score
Thanks prheaume.

Are there any significant differences between the 2010,2011,2012 versions?

08PILOT

Reaction score
I'd own a NBS if they made a "SPORT" but they didn't so
we bought an 08 Loaded OBS, She's AWD and has the 6

dietz4ibanez

Admin
Reaction score
Personally if you were going for a LTZ model I would go for newer than 2010. I think 2011 was the start of the onstar app on smartphones for remote start and other newer features.

rbiggers

Reaction score
I'd definitely go for a 2012, but I prefer to buy brand new. Hardly any differences that I know of between the 2010 and 2011. We have an LT 2010 and my mother-in-law has an LTZ 2011. Both are V6s and we love them!

And by the way, the OnStar app on the newer models is awesome! I have it on my 2011 Silverado. Wish we had it on our Equinox.

SSDude

Reaction score