Check engine light 2013 Equinox

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

proudaunt

Reaction score
The check engine light came on in my 2013 Equinox and stayed on. I brought it to the shop. Of course, when they started the car, the light did not come on. They scanned it anyway and the mechanic said it showed a fuel system issue. He said it could be the fuel injectors or the fuel pump. I have an appointment to bring it in for a more thorough diagnosis. However, the light has since gone out. I am thinking it could have been an issue with the gas cap, but I am far from an expert when it comes to cars. I really don't want to pay for any expensive repairs if they aren't necessary. Should I keep the appointment, or is it unnecessary since the light has not come back on?

Baldy

Reaction score
I had this issue and I believe it was the gas cap. I filled up with gas that morning and about a half hour later the light came on. The first thing I checked was the gas cap and I did not tighten it correctly. Never had the problem again.

SYDNESB

Reaction score
The check engine light came on in my 2013 Equinox and stayed on. I brought it to the shop. Of course, when they started the car, the light did not come on. They scanned it anyway and the mechanic said it showed a fuel system issue. He said it could be the fuel injectors or the fuel pump. I have an appointment to bring it in for a more thorough diagnosis. However, the light has since gone out. I am thinking it could have been an issue with the gas cap, but I am far from an expert when it comes to cars. I really don't want to pay for any expensive repairs if they aren't necessary. Should I keep the appointment, or is it unnecessary since the light has not come back on?