Go Back   Chevy Equinox Forum | GMC Terrain Forum | Cadillac SRX Forum > Chevy Equinox General Discussion > 2010+ Equinox Maintenance

2010+ Equinox Maintenance

Tire Pressure Monitors


This is a discussion on Tire Pressure Monitors within the 2010+ Equinox Maintenance forums, part of the Chevy Equinox General Discussion category!
Just how accurate are the TPMs? I notice mine read about 2psi below the tire guage I'm using. Just wondering ...





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2011, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 9
Rep Power: 0
Ken Rosey is on a distinguished road
Default Tire Pressure Monitors

Just how accurate are the TPMs? I notice mine read about 2psi below the tire guage I'm using. Just wondering which one is correct.
Ken
Ken Rosey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

I feel that the sensors are more accurate then the tire pressure gauge.
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Mod
 
Z_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 59
Posts: 1,586
Rep Power: 9
Z_Ghost is on a distinguished road
Default

The cheep ones you get up at the parts store are not that great, they can be off by a few lbs when new and they just get off even more as they get old.
I have 5 gauges and not one of them is the same as any of the other ones.
__________________
2011 Terrain SLT2 Carbon Black I4 FWD
92 B4C Camaro - X Texas HWY Patrol car
ZZ4, SuperRam, Holley 52 mm TB, T-56.
92 Z/28
60\'1.937-1/4 13.851-98.16 mph

Z_Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

When I fill the tires I usually have the car running and refer to the screen in the dash as to what the tire pressures are.
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
jsfb6pts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Petoskey ,Michigan
Posts: 208
Rep Power: 7
jsfb6pts is on a distinguished road
Default Tpm

If you rotate your own tires ,each tpm needs to reset be to its new location .
They do mine when I have them rotated .
jsfb6pts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 01:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

I wish there was a way to reset the tpms location without using a scan tool... I mean some models have bluetooth so why not...
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Mod
 
Z_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 59
Posts: 1,586
Rep Power: 9
Z_Ghost is on a distinguished road
Default

Should be a way to do it, I know I could on the Cobalt.
__________________
2011 Terrain SLT2 Carbon Black I4 FWD
92 B4C Camaro - X Texas HWY Patrol car
ZZ4, SuperRam, Holley 52 mm TB, T-56.
92 Z/28
60\'1.937-1/4 13.851-98.16 mph

Z_Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

I know I had to take my truck in to have it done...
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Crossover Professional
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sherbrooke,Qc
Age: 34
Posts: 572
Rep Power: 7
prheaume is on a distinguished road
Default

The tire pressure +5 -5 psi don't work on yours?
prheaume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by prheaume View Post
The tire pressure +5 -5 psi don't work on yours?
No, To have the position of the tires rotated.. When you have them rotated for the first time. It shows the front pressure on the back and witched from Driver to passenger. So they have to reprogram it so that every tire is matching position to the DIC!
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 03:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Mod
 
Z_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 59
Posts: 1,586
Rep Power: 9
Z_Ghost is on a distinguished road
Default

They took that out in 2011 from what I have read.. Bummer
__________________
2011 Terrain SLT2 Carbon Black I4 FWD
92 B4C Camaro - X Texas HWY Patrol car
ZZ4, SuperRam, Holley 52 mm TB, T-56.
92 Z/28
60\'1.937-1/4 13.851-98.16 mph

Z_Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 08:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

So you just have to live with it as is? With all the wheels messed up on the DIC?


I am pretty sure you can take it into the dealer to have it reset.
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 05:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Crossover Professional
 
08PILOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West TN
Age: 48
Posts: 832
Rep Power: 7
08PILOT is on a distinguished road
Default

Just had mine done yesterday (O/C and Rotation)

I don't trust the parts store Tire Pressure gauges.
__________________
The Wife's: "WD1" 08 AWD Nox Sport
The Toy: "Square Vette" 72 C5 Blazer
Toy Puller: "Burakkubyūtī" 12 Tundra
Toy Hauler: "Feathers" Aluma 8218T
Owner/Admin "TN Classic Truck Club"
08PILOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 01:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Age: 32
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
JohnMartyn is on a distinguished road
Default

Tire pressure monitors are electric systems that keep a watchful eye on the amount of air inside your tire. While I applaude you for paying more attention to you're tires I have reservations about pressure monitors.
JohnMartyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Admin
 
dietz4ibanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35
Posts: 4,669
Rep Power: 10
dietz4ibanez is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by JohnMartyn View Post
Tire pressure monitors are electric systems that keep a watchful eye on the amount of air inside your tire. While I applaude you for paying more attention to you're tires I have reservations about pressure monitors.
Did you have one rub you the wrong way?
dietz4ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire shine Lenn Detailing Tips and Tricks 24 03-20-2014 10:50 PM